

201 Market Street, Suite 204 Virginia Beach, Virginia 23462 P (757) 385-2526 F (757) 493-5450 www.virginiabeach.gov/culture

Officers:

Susan C. Grube Chair

Brenda J. Roberts Vice Chair

Emma "Em" Davis Secretary

Hon. Winship C. Tower (Ret.) Treasurer

Members:

Michael Cloud-Butler

C. Cheyney Cole, Jr.

Mia K. Guile

Raeesah Islam

Alicia "Sunny" Phillips Peoples

Cynthia Romero, M.D.

Olga Torres-Baker

Virginia Beach Arts and Humanities Commission Business Meeting Thursday, June 1, 2023/5 pm Sandler Center – Classroom 1 (2<sup>nd</sup> Floor)

### **AGENDA**

I. Welcome

## II. Approval of Minutes

### a. February 2, 2023

COMMISSIONER	YES	NO	ABSTAIN	ABSENT
Chair Susan C Grube				
Vice Chair Brenda Roberts				
Secretary Em Davis				
Treasurer Winship C. Tower				
Commissioner Michael Cloud-Butler				
Commissioner C. Cheyney Cole, Jr.				
Commissioner Mia K. Guile				
Commissioner Raeesah Islam				
Commissioner Alicia "Sunny" Peoples				
Commissioner Cynthia Romero				
Commissioner Olga Torres-Baker				

# b. March 30-31, 2023

COMMISSIONER	YES	NO	ABSTAIN	ABSENT
Chair Susan C Grube				
Vice Chair Brenda Roberts				
Secretary Em Davis				
Treasurer Winship C. Tower				
Commissioner Michael Cloud-Butler				
Commissioner C. Cheyney Cole, Jr.				
Commissioner Mia K. Guile				
Commissioner Raeesah Islam				
Commissioner Alicia "Sunny" Peoples				
Commissioner Cynthia Romero				
Commissioner Olga Torres-Baker				

### c. May 4, 2023

COMMISSIONER	YES	NO	ABSTAIN	ABSENT
Chair Susan C Grube				
Vice Chair Brenda Roberts				
Secretary Em Davis				
Treasurer Winship C. Tower				
Commissioner Michael Cloud-Butler				
Commissioner C. Cheyney Cole, Jr.				
Commissioner Mia K. Guile				
Commissioner Raeesah Islam				
Commissioner Alicia "Sunny" Peoples				
Commissioner Cynthia Romero				
Commissioner Olga Torres-Baker				



201 Market Street, Suite 204 Virginia Beach, Virginia 23462 P (757) 385-2526 F (757) 493-5450 www.virginiabeach.gov/culture

#### Officers:

Chair

Susan C. Grube

Brenda J. Roberts Vice Chair

Emma "Em" Davis

Hon. Winship C. Tower (Ret.)

### III. Approval of Treasurer's Report

**a.** May Treasurer's Report

COMMISSIONER	YES	NO	ABSTAIN	ABSENT
Chair Susan C Grube				
Vice Chair Brenda Roberts				
Secretary Em Davis				
Treasurer Winship C. Tower				
Commissioner Michael Cloud-Butler				
Commissioner C. Cheyney Cole, Jr.				
Commissioner Mia K. Guile				
Commissioner Raeesah Islam				
Commissioner Alicia "Sunny" Peoples				
Commissioner Cynthia Romero				
Commissioner Olaa Torres-Baker				

Members:

Secretary

Treasurer

Michael Cloud-Butler

C. Cheyney Cole, Jr.

Mia K. Guile

Raeesah Islam

Alicia "Sunny" Phillips Peoples

Cynthia Romero, M.D.

Olga Torres-Baker

**b.** Allocation of the additional \$70,000 funding for the FY24 AHC Project Grants

COMMISSIONER	YES	NO	ABSTAIN	ABSENT
Chair Susan C Grube				
Vice Chair Brenda Roberts				
Secretary Em Davis				
Treasurer Winship C. Tower				
Commissioner Michael Cloud-Butler				
Commissioner C. Cheyney Cole, Jr.				
Commissioner Mia K. Guile				
Commissioner Raeesah Islam				
Commissioner Alicia "Sunny" Peoples				
Commissioner Cynthia Romero				
Commissioner Olga Torres-Baker				

### IV. Old Business

a. Slate of Officers for FY24 presented by Nominating Committee

COMMISSIONER	YES	NO	ABSTAIN	ABSENT
Chair Susan C Grube				
Vice Chair Brenda Roberts				
Secretary Em Davis				
Treasurer Winship C. Tower				
Commissioner Michael Cloud-Butler				
Commissioner C. Cheyney Cole, Jr.				
Commissioner Mia K. Guile				
Commissioner Raeesah Islam				
Commissioner Alicia "Sunny" Peoples				
Commissioner Cynthia Romero				
Commissioner Olga Torres-Baker				

### V. New Business

- a. Review of FY24 Meeting Schedule
- **b.** FY24 Project Grant Award Notices to be sent in June

# VI. Committee Reports

a. Advertising & Marketing Committee Committee Chair-Peoples/Staff Liaison- Alex Dye



201 Market Street, Suite 204 Virginia Beach, Virginia 23462 P (757) 385-2526 F (757) 493-5450 www.virginiabeach.gov/culture

Officers:

Susan C. Grube Chair

Brenda J. Roberts Vice Chair

Emma "Em" Davis Secretary

Hon. Winship C. Tower (Ret.) Treasurer

Members:

Michael Cloud-Butler

C. Cheyney Cole, Jr.

Mia K. Guile

Raeesah Islam

Alicia "Sunny" Phillips Peoples

Cynthia Romero, M.D.

Olga Torres-Baker

**b.** Advocacy Committee

Committee Chair Roberts/Staff Liaison–Emily Labows

c. Champion for the Arts Committee

Committee Co-Chairs Davis and Romero/Staff Liaison- Beth Hundley

- July Press Release
- August 3 Ceremony
- d. Cultural Equity Committee

Committee Chair Torres-Baker/Staff Liaison – Hillary Plate

- Draft language presentation and discussion
- e. Public Art Committee

Committee Chair Cole/Staff Liaison (Interim)- Emily Labows Beth Hundley

CONSENT APPROVAL – 4 ViBe Creative District Murals

COMMISSIONER	YES	NO	ABSTAIN	ABSENT
Chair Susan C Grube				
Vice Chair Brenda Roberts				
Secretary Em Davis				
Treasurer Winship C. Tower				
Commissioner Michael Cloud-Butler				
Commissioner C. Cheyney Cole, Jr.				
Commissioner Mia K. Guile				
Commissioner Raeesah Islam				
Commissioner Alicia "Sunny" Peoples				
Commissioner Cynthia Romero				
Commissioner Olga Torres-Baker				

- VII. Commissioner Comments
- VIII. Public Comments
- IX. Next Meeting
  - **a.** <u>July 13, 2023- 4 pm-Thursday</u> Executive Committee Meeting Conference Room/Sandler Center
  - **b.** July 13, 2023- 5 pm-Thursday
    Business Meeting
    Classroom 1/Sandler Center
  - X. Adjournment